Sports Industry AU

What happens off the field in Australian Sport

Mens Cricket

The Seven Network and Fox Sports will broadcast the Australian summer of cricket for the next six years after signing a deal with Cricket Australia worth $1.182 billion.

  • Seven takes over the free-to-air rights from the Nine and Ten networks and will broadcast all men’s Test matches as well as 43 KFC Big Bash League each season.
  • The Gillette men’s one-day and T20 internationals will be shown exclusively on Fox Sports, as will the remaining 16 men’s BBL matches not shown on Seven.
  • Fox Sports will also show the matches that will be broadcast on free-to-air by Seven – all men’s Tests and the 43 BBL matches – as part of a deal that includes a dedicated Fox Sports cricket channel.
  • The BBL has been expanded to a full home-and-away season – a total of 59 matches – which means the number of BBL games shown on free-to-air television (43) remains the same as last summer.
  • The deal also includes a new digital partnership between Fox Sports and Cricket Network, which guarantees Cricket Australia’s digital channels will continue to carry on-demand highlights of all cricket played in Australia. Fox Sports will also have digital rights for its platforms.
  • Cricket Network will also offer exclusive broadcast-quality streaming of other matches not shown on Seven or Fox Sports, including some international tour matches as well as non-broadcast JLT Sheffield Shield and JLT One-Day Cup games.
  • In addition to their coverage of international and domestic matches, Fox Sports will broadcast the Shield final and 13 One-Day Cup games as well as some international tour matches.
  • The Allan Border Medal Night will be broadcast live on both Seven and Fox Sports.