[NRL] 2013-2017

In 2012, the new ARL Commission chose to remain with Nine and Foxtel, despite strong bids from Seven and Ten, in the process securing a deal worth 1.025 billion over five years.

The new broadcast agreement includes:

* A cash component of $925m, $90m of which will be paid prior to the start of the first season;
* Advertising packages to the value of $100m;
* The first 20 rounds of the premiership will be scheduled in advance of the season;
* The final six rounds will be scheduled at round 16.

The Nine Network will broadcast:
* Three weekly matches (two on Friday and one on Sunday);
* Three Thursday evening matches over the course of the year;
* A stand-alone Test and City v Country weekend;
* Wednesday night State of Origin matches;
* A night-time Grand Final (7.15pm kick-off);
* The Roosters-Dragons Anzac Day matches;
* Two hours of rugby league content each evening on digital Channel 94 plus two hours of content on Saturday and Sunday morning;
* Nine will ensure that all of its matches are telecast on either the ‘primary’ or ‘digital’ station in each state;
* The Queensland In Trust Super Cup;
* Nine will broadcast in HD from 2014.

Fox Sports will telecast:
* Five weekly matches across Saturday, Sunday and Monday;
* Thirteen Sunday evening matches (6.30pm) over the course of the year;
* The Storm v Warriors Anzac Day game (other than in 2014);
* Three non NRL matches each week played in conjunction with the Telstra Premiership game (which will be shared between Toyota Cup, NSW Cup and GIO Schoolboys Cup);
* All games will be broadcast live, ad-free during play and in HD;
* Fox Sports has also acquired digital rights to stream its five live weekly matches via IPTV and tablet devices.

Both networks will have responsibility for:
* Coverage of the Four Nations tournament;
* Forming two player development academies to train players in media presentation.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.